5 tips to help you focus better!

“Focusing is a challenge for me!”
 
“I’ve been told I have ADD.”
“I get distracted easily.”
“I can’t focus and it’s stressing me out.”
Do any of these ring a bell for you? 
Have you stated one or more of these statements?
Honestly, I can say that focusing has always been a challenge for me yet it wasn’t until recently that I really understood why for me and my clients, especially as this issue has been mentioned by many them as a main stressor for them.
In order to help myself and my clients, I set out to research why we struggle with focusing. I have found that there are numerous reasons for our inability to concentrate which range from brain and hormonal imbalances and physical and mental health issues. Within my research I found a condensed article form Healthline that I’ve included by clicking here that discusses 24 reasons why we can’t concentrate.
A few of these reasons, such as anxiety, insomnia, adjustment disorders, depression, migraines, PTSD, and stress are ones my clients specifically struggle over which then impacts other areas of their lives. However, another one not mentioned here is boredom.
If any of those stressors, even boredom, are reasons you have identified for why you can’t concentrate then I want to share a few tips that I have learned to improve focus.
5 Focusing Tips
1st tip: Maintain a regular and consistent sleep schedule. Identify how much time you really need to wake up feeling refreshed and ready for your day, 6-8 hours.
2nd tip: Eat a colorful array of foods; especially blueberries, fresh caught fish, organic produce as much as possible or speak to your holistic professional for a mind enhancing supplement. (Check out Whole Detox for more information, click here)
3rd tip: Incorporate at least 5 minutes of meditation/mindfulness practice a day. Here’s a 1 minute meditation that you can use to bring your mind back into focus.
4th tip: Find your reason why you are doing the work that you so you feel more motivated to do the most challenging and boring tasks.
5th tip: Block schedule the tasks you don’t like and balance them with ones you do.
Block scheduling? What’s that?
For those who don’t know what block scheduling is, this is a tip that has been helping me to really stay focused (still a work in progress). To put it simply, each day you assign specific tasks and times for you to work on those items that you struggle with. Let’s say you know your most productive time is in the morning, so schedule the most time-sensitive or most challenging activities at this time.
For example, I block at least 2 hours a month towards bookkeeping, not my favorite task but one that needs to get done. I recently created a calendar, titled block calendar, with a different color within my google calendar in which I identify the tasks I know I need to do each week. Then once I complete the task, such as bookkeeping, I celebrate with a predetermined reward, perhaps taking myself out to eat, calling a friend, taking myself out somewhere fun, visiting my godson and niece or ending my work day early and laying in my hammock watching a comedy or reading a book.
It’s still a work in progress in regards to staying focused on tasks that are a bore to me yet I’m determined to ensure that I have fun and continue to create the life that I love.
Speaking of the life that I love, I want to welcome a new group of Reiki 1 and 2 students that I had the honor of teaching last weekend in the Gables Optimal Health workshop room where I see clients. They are a reminder of why I want to continue finding support for my challenges which I know you, my tribe, also struggle with.
Eric, Susan, Priscilla, Yvette, Daniela, and Alexandra
Image
Reiki 2: Vanessa, Lina, and Mimi
Image
So, to recap, if focusing is an issue for you, first begin by understanding the reason why. Is it a hormone deficiency, lack of nutrients, or boredom?
If you’re unsure I’d love to help you identify which one so let’s start with a complimentary stress release session which you can book by clicking here.
Then get organized at the beginning of your work week or day by identifying the tasks you need to accomplish, both fun and not so fun. Prioritize them and then schedule them within your calendar by blocking specific times that you can dedicate to that task.
Finally, reward yourself after you accomplish the most challenging and boring tasks. This can range from time on social media, to shopping, texting, going out for a walk, etc. Remember though put this in time increments too because if not you can get “lost” or spend too much time on other activities.
I hope this was helpful. Please respond and let me know what your favorite tip was or any ahas you received from this. Pass this along to someone who may benefit from it as we all need love everyday!
Thank you for being a part of my expanding family.

Paty, La Mariposa

PS. Remember to join me for a Facebook Live every Wednesday morning (or when you can) at Our Wheels of Life Facebook page for a stress less tip of the day.

Leave a Reply

