Lessons learned from Hurricane Irma

Hurricane Irma is now going in the history books as the most bizarre storm in this century. She was completely unpredictable, enormous, and catastrophic for many in her path.
South Florida and then the entire state, Georgia, and the Carolinas braced for what was assumed to be the worst catastrophe because of her status as a Category 5. Some even stated she was a category 6 at one point.
The storm for many triggered memories of past hurricanes, like Hurricane Andrew 25 years ago, fears of the unknown, panic, and much more. Yet, for all the hype of how horrible it was going to be, many people came together to pray, volunteer, and help one another.
Yes, I know the news focused on the scariest moments yet social media focused on the community support. Until power went out and charging my cell phone became more problematic, I was able to keep track of the hurricane, resources, and support systems via social media.
I would post messages of hope, led prayer circles, and stayed in contact with loved ones.
For me, this hurricane brought a renewed sense of community, support, and faith. Even though I’m still without power I’m so grateful for so much. Also, without internet or tv I’ve had more time to sit back and process this entire experience has been like for me.
Hurricane Irma Lessons learned
  • Group prayer can shift storms if it’s in the highest good​​​​​​​
  • Daily self-Reiki helps me to remain calm even during the most critical times
  • Listening to my intuition and staying in Miami was a positive choice
  • Feeling over prepared is a much better feeling than underprepared
  • Releasing worry and trusting the universe to provide has been positive
  • Living without power is so much better than being without food or water
  • Communities grow stronger after a crisis
  • Self-care is important during storms such as taking time outs, going for walks, self-reiki, and listening to calming music
  • Being with my family was the best gift during this storm
  • Think about ways to be the least stressed and take action
  • Focus on moment to moment situations that I can control and release the rest
  • Be more mindful of my words, especially if I start to complain
  • Find ways to assist others even if it’s just to send a kind text or message
  • Appreciate the luxuries I do have and that others offer, such as external batteries to watch a movie, beer offers
  • Stay outside more to meet my neighbors and engage in small talk
  • Reschedule people and events if feelings of stress begin to rise
  • Offer support through messages, Facebook lives, and free resources, such as www.heartmath.com/freeresources for emotional support
  • I still believe that everything happens for a reason, even if I or we don’t always know what that is at the time
Since Irma I’ve been riding my bike and walking places more because I honestly don’t want to spend time waiting in lines for gas. The heat has absorbed some of my hunger so I’m eating less and smarter.
This weekend I’ll be volunteering my time in Homestead to help clean up the debris that has affected the area. I won’t be able to head all the way down to the keys or leave the country as of this moment but I am finding ways to give back locally.
If you were impacted by Hurricane Irma in any way please respond to this email about lessons learned or any experience.
Thank you for being a part of my expanding family.
Love and light,

Paty, La Mariposa, Hernández

Leave a Reply

