My imperfect actions.

For years I’ve struggled with feeling worthy and confident. I remember my childhood spending more time behind books than talking to people because I believed they would laugh at me. There were many times I was made fun of at school and never understood why so I kept to myself because it hurt less.
Yet when I was called upon to speak in front of others, I especially recall how physically sick and nervous I felt. However, as I entered my early 20s I pushed myself through it because I felt a calling to teach and speak in front of groups, yet unsure how that would come about at the time.
My biggest test for public speaking came when I recently arrived to my new Peace Corps community in El Salvador. In their culture when they have a big announcement (which I was) they would often gather together in large groups as a way to be seen. So, true to their custom they had gathered the community (and people from surrounding areas) to meet me. I had no idea what to expect and before I knew it I was surrounded by hundreds of people all staring at me, curious as to who I was and why I was in their country. I somehow gathered my wits together and words streamed out of my mouth. It was quite a high actually and I enjoyed it.
From then on I placed myself in front of groups of all sizes as much as I could. Once I returned to the US for graduate school I continued this practice by enrolling in numerous students groups and managing opportunities to speak publicly.
Although I still become nervous from time to time I push myself through my doubts and fears as I know my message is stronger. Thank goodness because I’ve since been teaching self-care techniques like Reiki and meditation to groups of all sizes which is part of my passion.
Sometimes I stand in front of others with my mind blank and my heart full of trust, as words flow out on their own.
I’ve made so many mistakes and learned so much along my path as an entrepreneur. These experiences encourage me to continue on my path of self-healing and sharing my gifts with you and many others. It is through my challenges that I share with you what I’ve accepted so you stumble less or at least feel supported so you don’t fall as hard.
It all begins with trust and taking imperfect action. This month highlights my numerous ways of imperfect action and intention setting that has manifested itself.
I’ll highlight the main ones below because I’m so proud of myself yet also know never to do this much in a single month again. Ha ha!! Lesson learned, hopefully.
I have to admit that as busy as I appear to be I also have taken more time for myself by doing activities with friends and family as I really celebrate each moment.
I admit I put too much on my plate this month because I didn’t really understand all the work it entailed. However, I don’t regret it because I’m taking action instead of waiting on the idea that it has to be perfect.
The lessons learned and the people I’ve met who’ve helped me along this journey, plus those I’ve shared these experiences with are so worth it.
I want to encourage you that wherever you are in life, if there’s an activity that you want to accomplish but hesitant then do it anyways. Waiting for perfection will have you on the sidelines rather than on the field running around like mad.
I know what it’s like to do things on your own and it’s hard to really move forward unless you have someone cheering you on. So I’d like to offer you a chance to share it with me and together we can create a plan to move forward with at least one goal in your life with a complimentary stress less phone session.
I know I’ve pushed through this because I’ve had people encouraging me along the way. I want to offer the same for you.
Click here to book your remote session today.
October (Birthday month highlights)
October 12, Celebrating my birthday at my friend’s concert in Miami (fun and dancing)
October 15Reiki 2 en Espanol
October 22, I will host the Natural Wellness Clinic, bringing holistic practitioners and vendors to Coral Gables for a monthly Stress Less Sunday followed by a meditation lecture and practice​​​​​​​
October 23, I will launch a new online program called Advanced Reiki Refresher with my best friend Libby of Essential You Yoga. It’s been a dream I’ve had for a couple of years and this year I made it reality.
October 25-30, my intention of going to Cuba to learn and offer service work has manifested through CubaOne’s relief mission.
Pass this blog along to someone who may benefit from it as we all need love everyday!
Thank you for being a part of my expanding family.

Love and light,

Paty, La Mariposa, Hernández

Leave a Reply

